Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre

28 January 2016

Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre, starring his legendary character Jack Parlaban, and perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

Description

There is no perfect marriage. There is no perfect murder.

Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.

Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for.

Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.

But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...

About this author

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full time novelist with the publication of Quite Ugly One Morning. Since the publication of A Big Boy Did It and Ran Away he and his family decided to move away from Aberdeen and now live near Glasgow.

Read if you liked

Girl on the Train or Apple Tree Yard